Awards/Honours/Prizes Received by NIMR Scientists

Dr. T. Adak

Dr. M.O.T. Iyengar Memorial Award for Malaria of the Indian Council of Medical Research—1996.

Best Scientist Award related to Environmental Aspects of Vector Borne Diseases, National Academy of Vector Borne Diseases—2002.

Fellow of the Indian Society for Malaria and other Communicable Diseases, Delhi.

Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India, Allahabad.

Late Dr. M.A. Ansari

Best Scientist Award from National Environmental Science Academy—1994.

Fellow of the Indian Society for Malaria and other Communicable Diseases, Delhi.

Fellow of the National Environmental Science Academy.

Biotech International life time achievement award for contributions in vector borne diseases (posthumously in 2008).

Dr. C.P. Batra

Fellow of the Indian Society for Malaria and other Communicable Diseases, Delhi—1990.

Best poster presentation award at the National Congress of Parasitology—1994.

Dr. Aparup Das

Young Scientist Award from the Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India—1993.

Post-doctoral fellowship award by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German Science Foundation)—2000.

Overseas associateship award from the Department of Biotechnology, Govt. of India—2007.

Prof. A.P. Dash

Dr. T.R. Rao Award by the ICMR for the year 1991 for outstanding contributions in Medical Entomology in India—1991.

Rajiv Gandhi Award for outstanding contributions to Science in India by the Rajiv Gandhi Foundation—2001.

Oration Award of the Indian Society of Epidemiologists and Indian Society for Malaria and other Communicable Diseases for best contributions in Malaria Research in India—2002.

Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhawna Award by Rajiv Gandhi Forum, Orissa as best personality in Health Services—2008.

Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences.

Fellow of the Indian Society for Malaria and other Communicable Diseases.

Fellow of the Zoological Society of India.

Fellow of the Environmental Science Academy.

Dr. Vas Dev

Bio-medical Research Award of the ICMR—1995. Best poster presentation award at the Indian Society

for Parasitology—1995. Fellow of the Indian Society for Malaria and other

Communicable Diseases, Delhi. Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India,

Dr. Virender K. Dua

Allahabad.

Dr. M.O.T. Iyengar Memorial Award for Malaria of the Indian Council of Medical Research—1997.

Best Scientist Award related to Environmental Aspects of Vector Borne Diseases, NAVBD, Bhubaneswar, India—1998.

Wellcome Trust (U.K.) Award to work in U.K. for six months—Oct 1999 to Apr 2000.

Dr. M.O.T. Iyengar Memorial Award for Malaria of the Indian Council of Medical Research—1999.

Dr. Hema Joshi

Fellow of the Indian Society for Malaria and other Communicable Diseases, Delhi—1987.

Awarded British Council (ODA) fellowship, U.K. for Post-doctoral for six months—1996.

Best poster presentation award at the National Congress of Parasitologists—2000.

Wellcome Trust (U.K.) Award to work in U.K. for two months—2003.

Best Scientist Award related to Molecular Biology of Vector Borne Diseases, NAVBD—2008.

Dr. Ashwani Kumar

Red Cross Award for outstanding services to the Society—1994.

Outstanding Young Personality Award from the Cuncolim Junior Chamber of Goa—1997.

Outstanding Young Indian Award under Toyi Programme in Technology and Scientific Development

- Category by Indian Junior Chamber during their National Conference, Secunderabad—1997.
- Outstanding Young Personality Award from the Zone XI of the Indian Junior Chamber at Zoncon—1998.
- Outstanding Young Person of the World Award in Technology and Scientific Development Category by International Junior Chamber presented at the World Congress of JCI at Manila—1998.
- Bharat Gaurav Award by Society for International Friendship and Understanding, New Delhi—2002.

Dr. P.K. Mittal

Fellow of the Indian Society for Malaria and other Communicable Diseases, Delhi—1993.

Best poster presentation award in Vector Control at the Indian Society for Parasitology—1994.

Dr. B.N. Nagpal

- Silver Medal received for best paper in Hindi presentation in "Man and Environment" at National Environment Science Academy—1995.
- T. Ramachandra Rao Award for young scientist of the Indian Council of Medical Research—1996.

Dr. Nutan Nanda

Awarded lst prize for the best presentation in the poster session at the All India Cell Biology Conference—1984.

Awarded Ist prize for the best presentation in the poster session at the Asian Congress on Parasitology—1986.

Fellow of the Indian Society for Malaria and Other Communicable Diseases—1993.

Awarded certificate of merit in the "Micrograph Contest", Electron Microscope Society of India—1994.

Dr. S.K. Sharma

WHO fellowship for training in 'Management of Tropical Diseases' at London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, London—1994.

Certificate of Honour by Rotary Club of Rourkela (Central) for outstanding efforts on Rotary against Malaria (RAM)—2001.

Best Poster Award during III Global Meet on Parasitology held at Bengaluru—2004.

Best Scientist Award related to Environmental Aspects of Vector Borne Diseases, NAVBD, Bhubaneswar, India—2008.

Fellow of the Academy of Zoology.

Dr. V.P. Sharma

Dr. B.K. Srivastava Foundation Award of Medical College, Udaipur—1977.

Om Prakash Bhasin Award in Health and Medical Sciences of the Bhasin Foundation—1985.

Dr. R.V. Rajam Oration Award of the National Academy of Medical Sciences—1987.

L.N. Gupta Trust Award of the L.N. Gupta Memorial Charitable Trust, Hyderabad—1989.

M.O.T. Iyengar Award for Malaria of the Indian Council of Medical Research—1989. B.N. Singh Oration Award—Gold Medal of the Indian Society for Parasitology—1990.

Ranbaxy Award in Applied Medical Sciences of the Ranbaxy Foundation—1990.

Padma Shree by the Honb'le President of India Shri R. Venkatraman—1992.

Best Scientist Award of the National Environment Science Academy— 1995.

Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) cash award in Biomedical Sciences—1998.

Fellow of the Royal Asiatic Society of London and Ireland.

Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi.

Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India. Fellow of the National Academy of Medical Sciences, New Delhi.

Fellow of the Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.

Fellow of the Entomology Society of India, New Delhi. Fellow of the National Environmental Science Academy, Patna.

Fellow of the Indian Society for Parasitology, Lucknow, U.P.

Fellow of the Indian Society for Malaria and other Communicable Diseases, Delhi.

Dr. Neeru Singh

Indian Council of Medical Research award for outstanding work in the field of Biomedical Research in under developed areas—1996.

Best Scientist Award related to Environmental Aspects of Vector Borne Diseases, National Academy of Vector Borne Diseases—1999.

Dr. Aruna Srivastava

Gold Medal for best poster presentation in "Man and Environment", National Environment Science Academy—1995.

Best analysis award in ESRI/ERDAS conference— 1996.

Dr. S.K. Subbarao

Dr. M.O.T. Iyengar Memorial Award for Malaria of the Indian Council of Medical Research—1991.

Best Scientist Award related to Environmental Aspects of Vector Borne Diseases, National Academy of Vector Borne Diseases—1996.

Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India. Fellow of the Indian Society for Malaria and other Communicable Diseases, Delhi.

Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi.

Dr. Neena Valecha

Fellow of the Indian Society for Malaria and other Communicable Diseases, Delhi.

Dr. R.S. Yadav

Certificate of Honour by the Indian Medical Association, Vadodara—1997.